Tags

, ,

changeThis year I’m making some New Year’s resolutions. Usually I don’t because, like everyone else, I tend to make them and break them a few days later. Life is significantly less stressful without them.

This year, however, I’ve decided to make some resolutions anyway. Why? Mainly because I was working on these projects at some level already, so this seemed an awesome time to formally take the plunge. Yes, January 1 is truly no different than Dec. 31 or Jan. 2, but it’s really a lovely day for starting a new project, and this year it’s a New Moon (also propitious for new projects) to boot.

What do I want to accomplish over the next year? I want to…

  • Finish “The Novel.”
  • Establish a meditation practice.
  • Eat 95% Paleo.
  • Exercise regularly.
  • Build a platform for my writing.
  • Save as much money as possible!

Now, someone is probably going to point out that those aren’t S.M.A.R.T. goals. In fact, at face value they’re pretty nebulous. What does “exercise regularly” mean? How do I determine “as much as possible”? Well, I’m not stressing over that seeming nebulousness, because each resolution is composed of discrete, measurable baby steps. I didn’t want to list all of those as resolutions, because, dude, OVERKILL.

Someone is also probably going to point out that this list is sort of like my list of impossible things. Yep. These are aspects of that list that I want to focus on this year. I’ll be working on other things too. For example, I’m working on my Spanish, and I plan to take a sailing course this summer. But these are the big ticket items I want to really focus on.

I’ll talk more about these and about the discrete baby steps in future posts.