Tags

, , , , ,

3d Health Word Sphere on white background.It occurred to me I am doing this for three reasons: my health, my soul, and my future. In this post I’m going to explore the health-related reasons for taking this journey.

My health is the biggie because it’s immediate. At one level, I’m doing all right. I’m functional. I feel okay from day to day. I have a strong immune system and don’t get colds and flus and such.

At another level, I’ve got a lot of underlying issues that are starting to catch up to me in a big way. My quality of life is gradually declining, and at any moment I could have a heart attack, stroke, or other serious event that could not only impair my life (forever) but could end it immediately. I’m not exaggerating. I have type II diabetes and type I PCOS. I’m insulin resistant and morbidly obese. I feel pain and fogginess in my head and tightness in my chest that didn’t used to be there. It’s terrifying.

I made a list of everyday symptoms I hope some healthy living will rectify:

  • Unable to reach all my body parts!
  • Acid reflux
  • Indigestion
  • Can barely close my seatbelt
  • Low energy
  • Very low cardio fitness level
  • Loss of muscular strength
  • Chronic acne on forehead
  • Swollen feet and ankles
  • Tendonitis in elbow
  • Sore joints
  • Exceptionally weak ab muscles
  • Lack of flexibility
  • Sleep apnea
  • Foot pain when walking
  • Bloating
  • Feeling uncomfortably over-full after meals
  • Chronic (but mild) snotty nose
  • Hair loss
  • Chest pain
  • Headaches

It’s a long, ugly list. I’m 45 years old, but I feel and look older. Western medicine doesn’t have good treatments for PCOS or type II diabetes. Mostly they treat symptoms, and the medicines they use have serious risks or ugly side effects. I’m afraid it’s a sad truism that it’s more profitable to manage than to cure. Fortunately, though, there are non-medical steps I can take to treat (and potentially cure) both conditions:

  • Eat a Paleo diet
  • Minimize carbs
  • Lift heavy things a couple times a week
  • Get enough sleep
  • Sprint a couple times a week
  • Reduce stress

I know from past experience that a consistently-followed Paleo diet and simple exercise will clear up every single one of the issues I listed above. Every one. “Consistent” is the key word, though, and that’s my life challenge. After a week, a month, two months, the pendulum swings to the far end of the continuum, and I return to SAD (Standard American Diet). Sticking to a Paleo diet and simple exercise routine is a key part of my List of Impossible Things.